Every Day


I miss you
Some days
More than
Others but
Never
Never
Do I
Miss you
Without
A tear

Some
Days I
Wonder if
You are
Really
Really
Gone

I google
Your
Name as if
You would
Suddenly
Appear
Busying
Yourself by
Popping
Back up into
Life
Making
News in
A search from
Beyond
The grave but
Alas
You are
Gone and I
Miss you
Some days
More than
Others but
Never
Never
Do I
Miss you
Without
A tear

Instead I
Search
Reality as
You show
Up back
Into
My life
Appearing
Only as
Dates and
Names
Marking
Time and
Space of
An era gone
Kept alive by
A computer
Fed by a cord like
The artificial life of
A breathing tube and
It feels so
Cold
Compared to
The memories I
Hold in
My mind of
You and
You and
Holidays
Shared and
Trips taken in
Good times and
Hard times and
Then
The Good bye as
I watched
Both of
You pass on
Leaving us
Here to
Mourn on
Until time
Does what
Time does
Best
Carry on but
You were
Alive

You were
Grandma

You were
Grandpa

And you are
Alive

Somewhere
Beyond this
Present age in
This technologically
Driven
World where
Internet searches
Sites
Emails
And Social
Media
Give us
The illusion of
Connection
You are
More
Real
More
Ever
Present than
All of
This

No matter
How many
Searches I
Do I
Won’t
Find
You
There

And
This is
The part of
Reality that
Makes missing you
Feel so
Hard
You are here but
I am still there…

…16 years and counting…

…6 years and counting…

…And some days it’s like it all happened yesterday.

And always in
Every day…

I miss you
Some days
More than
Others but
Never
Never
Do I
Miss you
Without
A tear

Hear me when I say…
I love you today and
Every day.
CL Dec 2014

Leave a Reply

